Skip to content

NMSU Honors College names 2022 Conroy Honors Scholar Program cohort

Release Date: 05 Oct 2022
NMSU Honors College names 2022 Conroy Honors Scholar Program cohort

The New Mexico State University William Conroy Honors College has announced the 2022 cohort of the NMSU Conroy Honors Scholar Program, which recognizes a diverse group of recent top high school graduates from throughout the country.

The program, which is now in its second year, consists of four-year scholarships to new, first-year students who have the desire to serve as leaders and models for fully engaged, academic all-star students at NMSU.

Conroy Honors scholars are expected to serve as leaders and models for what the life of a fully-engaged, academic all-star NMSU student can be. In addition to excellence in the classroom while completing the University Honors Program, Conroy Honors Scholars will also reflect Honors values as they work with faculty mentors on the research, scholarship and creative work of the university; seek leadership opportunities in both the campus community and their professional fields; model social responsibility with service and advocacy for a cause that matters; and develop intercultural competence, appreciation for diversity and their capacities as global citizens.

“What makes the Conroy Honors Scholars so unique is their combination of academic excellence and a desire to use their education for good in the world,” said Honors College Dean Phame Camarena. “These are not just great students with exceptional potential, they are good people who really reflect the spirit of the William Conroy Honors College.”

Students in the 2022 cohort, and their high school alma maters, are:

• Gabriel Agnew, environmental sciences and mathematics, Organ Mountain High School.

• Karla Alvarez, psychology and accounting, Santa Teresa High School.

• Daren Aranda, elementary special education, El Paso High School.

• Anabella Arias, kinesiology, Young Women’s Leadership Academy (El Paso).

• Timothy Bautista, aerospace engineering, The ASK Academy (Rio Rancho, N.M.)

• Alicia Beilman, kinesiology, Organ Mountain High School.

• Olivia Chavez, music education, Moriarty High School (Moriarty, N.M.)

• Dominique I. Gutierrez, aerospace engineering, Silver High School (Silver City, N.M.)

• Lianna Hartshorn, biology, Arrowhead Park Medical Academy.

• Jezabel Ixchel Jasso, psychology, Franklin High School (El Paso)

• Chianna Lopez, genetics and biotechnology, and French, Public Academy for Performing Arts (Albuquerque)

• Guinivere Mayse, museum conservation, art history and international studies, Logan Fay Academy of Fine Arts (Los Lunas, N.M.)

• Rachel Metcalf, mechanical engineering, Mountain View High School (Loveland, Colorado).

• Nicole Midgett, horticulture, Colony High School (Wasilla, Alaska).

• Keilani Montes, animal science, Silva Health Magnet (El Paso).

• Tiara Sibley, environmental science and agriculture, Amy Biehl Charter High School (Albuquerque).

• Anna Stolp, engineering physics in aerospace engineering, A.G. West Black Hills High School and South Puget Sound Community College (Olympia, Washington).

• Molly Streich, microbiology and German, Clovis High School (Clovis, California).

• Benedek Szalai, chemical engineering, Centennial High School.

• Andrew Villalobos, psychology and public health, Canutillo High School.

• Ava Wofford, secondary English Education, El Diamante High School (Visalia, California).

• Braxton Zink, history, Ketchikan High School (Ketchikan, Alaska).

For more information about the Conroy Honors Scholar Program, including a complete list of guidelines, visit


CUTLINE: Twenty-two recent high school graduates have been named to the first cohort of the Conroy Honors Scholar Program in the William Conroy Honors College at New Mexico State University. They are, from top left, Dominque I. Gutierrez, Anabella Arias, Andrew Villalobos, Anna Stolp and Ava Wofford; second row from left, Benedek Szalai, Braxton Zink, Chianna Lopez, Daren Aranda and Gabriel Agnew; third row from left, Guinivere Mayse, Jezabel Ixchel Jasso, Karla Alvarez, Keilani Montes and Lianna Hartshorn; fourth row from left, Nicole Midgett, Olivia Chavez, Rachel Metcalf and Tiara Sibley; and fifth row from left, Molly Streich and Timothy Bautista. Also in this year’s cohort is Alicia Beilman, not pictured. (Courtesy photos)

adding all to cart
File added to media cart.